Nagaimo (Japanese Yam) – Prevention of Stomache Cancer (참마 – 위암 예방 음식)


Nagaimo, aka Japanese Mountain Yam, (or Korean Yam) is a root that belongs in the yam family. However, unlike yams, it can be consumed without cooking. (Yams have harmful substances in its raw state). It is often used in Japanese and Korean dishes. (I have noticed it in more Japanese dishes than Korean) It is often grated and consumed, or can be cooked. It is often compared to a lotus root, because of its sticky substance that oozes out when cut, and have similar texture when cooked. The sticky substance that people love (or hate – they say it feels like eating boogers) is jam-packed with Mucin (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mucin), which is great for coating your stomach wall, and your throat. For that reason, it recommended for people with asthma or respitory problems, and also is known to be a miracle food for preventing stomache cancer. It is also high in fiber, and because of the mucin, people who have digestive problems, ulcer problems, or any problem related to your stomache and intestines, Nagaimo is a great food to consume.

It can be found in Japanese dishes such as Soba (buckwheat noodles), Saba (Mackerel), or with Maguro (Tuna). It has no taste, but the sticky, oozy substance is off-putting for beginners. That is why some people prefer to consume the powder form of Nagaimo. They use the nagaimo powder in cooking or pour it into milk, shake and drink.

There are many recipes online for cooking with Nagaimo, such as making a “Juhn” or Korean pancake, made with the Nagaimo and Potato. You grate the potatoes and put some nagaimo and heat up some oil on a frying pan and cook it until it looks like a pancake.

Continue reading “Nagaimo (Japanese Yam) – Prevention of Stomache Cancer (참마 – 위암 예방 음식)”

The Abbey Food & Bar – “The best gay bar to bring your straight friend to” (LA Magazine)


This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The Abbey Food & Bar

692 N Robertson Blvd.
West Hollywood, CA 90069

310.289.8410

http://www.abbeyfoodandbar.com/

The Story

It was a Tuesday night (actually yesterday, as I write this) and I was going to a concert in West Hollywood. (For those curious, Laura Marling was performing at the Troubadour) SO I decided to look at Google map around the area to see what’s around. And I see “The Abbey Food & Bar” and the name ringed a bell. I was not sure who, but I remember someone telling me about this place. So my friend and I decide to go check it out since it was really close to the Troubadour. When I got there, I realized why the place rung a bell; it was a gay bar. I didn’t really think much of it at first because I just thought it was restaurant that turns into a club at night (which technically it is). But it was not until I got to the restroom, with the urinal with TV screens on each stall with photos of guys in their underwear that it really hit home base. Don’t get me wrong, it didn’t take away from my experience, but it just threw me off in the beginning because I was did not know what to expect. So yes, this is a gay bar. If you go knowing this, I think you won’t be as confused as me and my friend. 🙂

Continue reading “The Abbey Food & Bar – “The best gay bar to bring your straight friend to” (LA Magazine)”